St. Leonard's CEP Academy

"Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it" Proverb 22:6


Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


Academy Governors


The Local Governing Body
The Academy is governed by the Trust Board and by a Local Governing Body, which is legally a Committee of the Trust Board, and only responsible for decisions delegated to it by the Board under their Scheme of Delegation. Appointments to the new Local Governing Body have been confirmed by the Trust Board as follows:



GovernorRoleElected byFromTo
Mr Tony DavisChair of GovernorsFoundation/Trust16/7/2131/08/24
Mr Charles ShawClerk to the Governors   
Mrs Faith RewHeadteacherEx- officio by virtue of office1/9/22 
Mrs Sharon MoyeStaff GovernorSchool Staff12/12/1911/12/27
Mr Michael PlummerParent GovernorParents1/12/2130/11/25
Miss Chloe LaskeyFoundation GovernorFoundation/Trust14/10/2313/10/27




 St Leonards Church of England Primary Academy
 Y = Attended, N = Apologies Accepted, . NS = No Apologies sent, X =Not a Governor at this time
   Local Governing BodyLocal Governing BodyLocal Governing BodyLocal Governing BodyLocal Governing Body 
 GovernorGovernor Type20 Oct 202215 Dec 202230 Mar 202325 May 202313 Jul 2023 
 Valerie AllenFoundation governorYNXXX 
 Stuart BalkhamParent governorYYYYY 
 Tony DavisCommunity governorYYYYY 
 Matthew FoyFoundation governorYYYYN 
 Lily GutierrezParent governorNNYNSN 
 Mrs Sharon MoyeStaff governorYYYYY 
 Mr Michael PlummerParent governorYYYYY 
 Faith RewHeadteacherYYYYY 
 Charles ShawClerkYYYYY 




The Roles and Responsibilities of the Governing Body
The three main functions of the governing body include:
1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the academy;
2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the academy and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;
3. Overseeing the financial performance of the academy and making sure its money is well spent.
With all of the three items above, the role of the Governing Body is to constructively challenge the senior leadership of the academy (that is, to be a “critical friend”). The Governing Body is not meant to get involved in the day-to-day running of the academy.


What does the Governing Body actually do?
The Governing Body meets once every term for a full meeting. Standard items that are discussed at these meetings include: data, finance, policy updates, safeguarding and Christian distinctiveness. A termly headteacher’s report is also circulated, which updates governors on various matters to do with the academy.


As well as these termly meetings, governors regularly visit the academy to focus on a particular element of academy life. The focus of these visits usually has a focus from the school development plan. A write-up of these visits are then circulated to other governors, so that the Governing Body can build up a collective picture of the academy.
The lead governor for safeguarding meets termly with Headteacher to ensure that the academy is up keeping its safeguarding responsibilities. Likewise, the lead governor for Health and Safety meets with the business manager and site caretaker to conduct a termly health and safety walk.



You can contact our Chair of Governors at:


Mr Tony Davis
c/o St Leonard’s Church of England Primary Academy
Collinswood Drive
St. Leonards-on-Sea
East Sussex
TN38 0NX


DCAT Website​​​


The Diocese of Chichester Academy Trust is a Multi Academy Trust. This means that it has under its stewardship more than one academy. Under a Scheme of delegation, the differing roles and responsibilities of governance are delegated between the MAT and the Local Governing Boards.


For more information about the trust please see the Academy Trust Information section on this website or alternatively visit the DCAT website.